‘Christmas in July?’ w/ SU!

Hello!

Yes, I am back and it hasn’t been months! Just a couple days! Time to start sharing some of what I have been working on this summer. First off, we’ll start with an oddly typical July theme…nope, not patriotic. It’s Christmas! I wasn’t sure when it started being a thing so I looked it up on Bing. I am so shocked that it is not such a recent thing! Who knew?

“Christmas in July started 84 years ago on July 24th and 25th in 1933 at a girls’ camp called Keystone Camp in Brevard, North Carolina.” (must have been a question from last year because now it would be exactly 85 years)

How weird is that? I never knew! I thought for sure it was just in my lifetime and more likely of my adult lifetime. I was wrong…and I am a-okay with that! 

Anyway, I made a Christmas card with the new DSP (Designer Series Paper) from Stampin’ Up! that is on sale right now. What?! You didn’t know that Stampin’ Up! was having a DSP sale? Crazy! Although, I guess it is my fault since I haven’t been blogging…let’s remedy that!

DSP is on sale! Buy 3 Get 1 FREE! Yep, that lovely 4 letter word is back in play! You can click on the blue words now, or later, and I will leave an attachment at the bottom of this post that you can click on as well.

Back to the card…

This card layout came from a sketch challenge put on by Sketch Saturday. It really inspired me to use the Christmas paper from the DSP Sale! Actually, it screamed at me!

Christmas in July was fun and I am so in love with the paper. The paper is called Under the Mistletoe and I really felt inspired by many of the sheets in this set. You can see all the different patterns really well in this picture. So much versatility. It’s double sided and you get 2 of each sheet! This one with the bells is my favorite! I’m using this card for a class this weekend. Wanna come?

1532305723368

For the card I flip-flopped the sketch and used Real Red card stock as a base and a strip of Old Olive card stock along the left side instead of the right. I used the Stitched Shape Framelits for my circle and oval. I like using them because they give it a border and finished look. Yes, I also changed it up by using an oval instead of a circle for the sentiment, but that is okay! I need to learn to slip out-of-the-box a little more often! It’s a healthy thing to do, especially in crafting! Then I used my dauber and Old Olive ink pad to distress the edges of the sentiment oval and the Old Olive strip. I also used clear rhinestones and a red Sharpie to give them color since my son and I agreed that you really couldn’t see the clear ones very well. I love the little sparkle they gave the card. Since I was keeping the card simple, the sentiment from the Christmas Pines stamp set suited it perfectly.

It’s simple yet striking, I think. Tell me what you think! I’m truly curious to know!

On to the next card/blog…

Enjoy your day! Keep on crafting!

Blessings, June

PS. Here is the promised link for the DSP Sale in case you don’t want to scroll back up…

Challenges this card is entered in:

Sketch Saturday – Week #523 with Kitty Bee Designs

Hiding in My Craft Room – HIMCR #362 – Christmas in July!

Through the Craft Room Door – TTCRD Anything goes challenge, week of July 24

Materials used for this card:

Under the Mistletoe Designer Series Paper
Price: $11.00
Stampin' Trimmer
Price: $30.00

 

Stitched Shapes Framelits Dies

Price: $30.00
Big Shot
Price: $110.00
Magnetic Platform
Price: $40.00
Standard Cutting Pads
Price: $11.00
Rhinestone Basic Jewels
Price: $5.00

5 thoughts on “‘Christmas in July?’ w/ SU!

  1. So beutiful christmas card, på wonderful creation and great design !!!
    Thank you so much for entering our ATG challenge at
    Through The Craft Room Door this week. Looking forward to see you again next challenge.
    Hugs Cicci
    DT member at TTCRD
    Cicci With The Pen {Welcome to follow my blog}

    Like

  2. Pingback: SU! 2018 Holiday Card Swap #2 | Junebug Creations

Leave a comment